Orange Love

5 05 2010

My “decorating style” (I put that in quotes because I really don’t have one, and if I did, I wouldn’t have the money to enact it) is sort of tan/gold/red. Really typical and boring. I have never even had a room that involved any “cool” colors. It’s so sad.

One of the harder parts of this is that I walk past this display at least once a day. Williams-Sonoma Home, I hate you.

Oh Orange. I love it. I don’t wear it, I am actually sort of afraid of it. But I love it’s happy warmth. In our “wedding we should have done,” we were going to do orange. By we, I mean me. And by “should have done,” I don’t mean our wedding stunk or anything. “She Who Shall Not Be Named” (further known as SWSNBN) screwed us by not coming through on her promised contribution. We couldn’t justify my family and friends spending tons to come out here and not even feed them, so we planned a party in NJ for this summer. Thus, most of my guests from NJ didn’t come. Which was the only reason we didn’t have our original planned wedding – a destination wedding. Because we wanted everyone to come. Funny how that works, right? But yes, I planned in my head a tropical wedding with orange and khaki. Just like this living room. Like how I brought it all back together there?

Anyway, let’s look at this gorgeous room.

Everything is perfect. The breezy, effortless style. The few slight accents in that breezy and light aqua color. (Check out the wall art in picture one.) Although the southwestern pillows? I could do without. Southwestern style makes me a little pukey.

Even if I planned to completely re-do our living room (which is smaller than this W-S Home living room) I wouldn’t be able to afford so much as a pillow from there.

Also, you’re not allowed to take pictures in the mall. I’m a rebel.

Actions

Information

4 responses

5 05 2010
Jenni

Love this and agree that I too am afraid of the color orange, though I have a secret love affair with it!

5 05 2010
Windi

I likey… and WHAT? You aren’t allowed to take pictures in the mall?! Then I am a MAJOR rebel.

6 05 2010
Rachel B.

The rug in that picture is the same as the pillows I have in my living room! Color can be scary – but I just redid my home office and my accent colors are that same bright/warm orange, kelly green and turquoise – if you use them in accents, they are not as scary. Go for it! Try it in a little way in your house – you will love it.

6 05 2010
Laura, your freakin' bestie.

Okay, I live in Southern California. There MUST be a WSHome somewhere around here right?! Must Google now… didn’t even know a WSH existed. Also, you can’t take pix in the mall? WTF kinda rule is that? Weird.

P.S. Email me and tell me what you want to guest post about on my blog. Do you want to make it a weekly gig? Or just a once in a while type of thing? Lemme know!

Leave a Reply

