There are no words.

12 05 2010

It’s always dangerous to write about your issues with grammar and proper punctuation. Because on the off-chance you mess up once after not enough sleep and too many mudslides… well, then… I’m sure there’s some saying about it but the point is, it’s embarrassing. I can be careless, and might make a stupid mistake in the future. Just putting it out there. And now that that’s over with…

Bad grammar and improper punctuation make me nauseous and angry.

I used to work near a hotel. The hotel’s little cafe on their ground floor advertised “Ice Cream Sundae’s” and I had a hard time patronizing for that reason.

Is it that hard to tell there, their, and they’re apart? Or another bad one… mixing up then and than. “Going to class than doing homework all night.” <– Not so much.

I really like this friendly little comic as a reminder for apostrophe use as well.

Please share the careless/embarrassing/unprofessional grammatical mistakes you’ve seen. And how much they bothered you. So I don’t feel crazy.

Actions

Information

4 responses

12 05 2010
Em

GAAAAHHHHH!!!!

Ok

Your & you’re…HOW is it possible to mess that up. Sorry, but if you’ve graduated high school YOU SHOULD KNOW THE DIFFERENCE!!

Than & then, yes, wtf?

Their, there, and they’re…again HOW?!?!

We all make mistakes and no one is perfect and I haaaaated grammar class as much as the next gal, but seriously, some of this is common sense. Lol, now I’m all fired up.

13 05 2010
Maria

I’m an editor and I still make grammar mistakes. That’s why I never proof my own writing!

What I hate more than anything are the non-punctuated Facebook updates: “OMG dont want to get up this morning but i have to ewww!”

Good job, random person, on making all your FB friends think you’re an idiot.

13 05 2010
Kelly

Dont you meen there IS no words?? Haha just kidding!!!!!! I am super annoyed by bad grammer whether on facebook or elsewhere. Sometimes I miss a few but it still irks me to no end! Their, they’re and there is NOT THAT HARD TO DISTINGUISH!!

I also hate when people start three sentences in a row with “and” .. “So my son slept all night long! AND he was happy when he woke up. AND I am about to clean up the house.”

18 05 2010
Katie

Oh man, don’t even get me started on bad grammar/spelling. Recently, my biggest pet peeve is when people say “sneak peak” instead of “sneak peek.” WTF?!?! I feel like this is a really obvious spelling…a peak is something on top of a mountain…a peek is when you look at something! Sheeeeesh!

Leave a Reply

