KJPuglicious Recipe: Enchiladas

18 05 2010

I am a pretty awful cook. The only things I can make are unhealthy meals that involve bread of some sort, cheese, and usually a tomato-based item. You know, things like pizza and pasta. But still, I try. On Cinco de Mayo, I saw Mr. Food on my local TV newscast touting some delicious enchiladas. Something “easy” and tasty? And cheaper than our frequent Mexican eatery trips? I was determined to perfect it.

After tonight, I believe I have. My KJPuglicious Enchiladas are adapted from Mr Food’s Tex-Mex Enchiladas, which can be found here. I made the recipe for four enchiladas (aka two prettttty hungry people) since we didn’t think they reheated well when we made eight. But if you have kids or company you can easily double the recipe.

KJPuglicious Enchiladas

  • 2 cups diced raw chicken (I used half a pack of tenderloins)
  • 1/2 a taco seasoning packet
  • 1 cup (4 ounces) shredded Mexican cheese blend, divided
  • 1/2 small red onion, chopped (more or less to taste)
  • 8 ounces red enchilada sauce, divided
  • 4 flour tortillas (10 inch, often labeled “enchilada size”)
  • Rice (if you want some with your enchiladas, DUH!)

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees and spray a baking dish with non-stick spray. (Note: A 13 x 9 pan works great if you are doubling the recipe- it fits 8 perfectly. For the 4-enchilada recipe, I just used a smaller glass pan.)

Start by cutting the tenderloins into dime-size pieces. I have never cut chicken before today. Holy shit. It is the grossest thing ever. So if you are like me, skip this step and get a husband, friend, neighbor, or even a pet to do it for you. Seriously… sick.

Cook the chicken in a skillet according to the taco seasoning packet directions.

Mix the cooked chicken, half the cheese, half the enchilada sauce, and the onions in a bowl. Lay out the tortillas and evenly divide the filling among them.

And if you’re me, you’ll spoon it out before adding cheese and have to pour the filling back in the bowl. Luckily, enchiladas aren’t judged on their pretty-ness. Just tasty-ness.

Roll the tortillas up around the filling and lay them seam-side down in the baking pan. You might want to figure out how to arrange them beforehand. Then, top with the remaining sauce and cheese. And if you’re a sloppy cook like me, revel in the messy-ness of your kitchen.

Bake for 15-18 minutes until cheese is browning. Serve with rice. Nom for hours.

Seriously, so easy and SO GOOD. You can also make them with green sauce, but I feel like the green tomatillo sauce should be reserved for pairings with queso, since it’s so tangy on it’s own. Unless that’s your style.

Please let me know if you make these!! I’d love to hear how they stack up next to your favorite Mexican place’s enchiladas!

Actions

Information

5 responses

18 05 2010
Em

Ugh I haaaate cutting chicken. I usually make Josh do it. I’m a FREAK about fatty parts on meat/poultry. It’s borderline OCD I think.

But yay for yummy enchiladas! As you cook more you’ll get more confident. You may think you’re awful now, but honestly if you stick with it you’ll surprise yourself. Lol, listen to me, all motivational speaker-like 🙂

19 05 2010
Laura the Bestie

Okay Brad and Em are the same… hatttteesss the fatty meaty stuff. Those seem way easy though! Doingggg it! But probably just cheese enchies!

19 05 2010
Tes

The recipe looks so great. I really wanna try it one day. Thanks for sharing.

19 05 2010
Steph

Those look delish! And I too HATE touching raw meat. Rick does all of that. Haha. Glad to see I’m not alone in my disgust. When we cook Thanksgiving dinner for my parents each year, I will NEVER touch the uncooked bird and the thought of ‘prepping’ totally grosses me out. Thank goodness my hubby loves me and doesn’t mind.

19 05 2010
Lex

Ooooh.. those look good! I found a really yummy recipe on the kraft website that involves adding cream cheese and salsa together instead of enchilada sauce.

And i agree with you about cutting chicken.. gag

Leave a Reply

