Complainty.

27 05 2010

Before I discuss my feelings on no complaint day, here are the complaints I recorded throughout the day:

  • 7:15 am Mad that Big Daddy took the last cheddar Babybel cheese. Consider complaining text. Remember it’s no complaint day. Go to work without my delightful dairy mid-morning kick.
  • 8:57 am Discuss insurance plan questions and options with coworker. Have to be reassured that I am expressing concerns/questions not complaints. Realize that it’s a thin line.
  • 11:20 am Coworker does incorrect transactions yesterday, causing me two times the amount of work today. I guide her as to how to do it correctly, and she does it wrong again 2.5 times. Tongue = bitten.
  • 3:33 pm Realize Rick Sanchez is on CNN in our office. Fight need to share how much he annoys me.
  • 3:45 pm STFU RICK SANCHEZ.
  • 5:05 pm Leave work and remember that Big Daddy’s car is now my car. It’s maroon with black interior. It’s like 90 degrees. So hot in the car I am sweating in places no person should and can barely touch the wheel. Miss white car with tan interior. No one present to complain to.
  • 6:07 pm Realize buns for meatball sub dinner are moldy. Have to eat meatballs on… toast.
  • 8:32 pm Feeling hungry for a sweet treat. Convince Big Daddy to pick up McDonald’s $1 hot fudge sundaes without complaining how badly I need sweets. SUCCESS!

Out of my whole day, these were the notable complaints. Not bad! A few times I would find myself saying something and realizing I could phrase it differently (talking about Big Daddy’s casual work dress code, and saying how different it is to not have to buy two wardrobes, for example) to sound less complain-y.

No Complaint Day. Overall, it did me no good. Well, that’s not entirely true. I was proud of myself for limiting the superfluous complaints that might annoy others (like how bad my lunch is, or how much I hate Rick Sanchez.) But complaints can also be A) valid, B) cathartic, and C) hilarious. I think it’s important to remember your audience, and to monitor your complaint gauge. No one likes someone who is complaining 24/7. But I’m not sure anyone likes someone who is bland and biting their tongue all the time either!

Actions

Information

2 responses

28 05 2010
Laura, your freakin' bestie.

I’m pretty sure I am complaining from 86% of the words that come out of my mouth. The Hubs would probably say 94% is more accurate.

I love complaining. That’s why I like our phone dates, we complain together. 🙂

2 06 2010
Mina

you’re. hilarious.

Leave a Reply

