Pugs, Buggs, and Brugs

28 05 2010

I haven’t really talked about my dogs yet, which makes me sad, since they’re basically my life.

Big Daddy and I have three pugs. Which is not entirely true, we technically have 2 and 1/2 pugs. One of them is a Bugg, aka Boston Terrier x Pug.

In December 2007, we adopted the two girls. They were rescued from a puppy mill where they had been bred (and had the saggy boobies to prove it!) which is the main reason I hate Amish people. But that’s another story for another day. Anyway, may I introduce you to our first pugs:

Sophie Soph

And Dixie Bugg

A little less than a year later we got Harley aka Sir Harles. He was a rescue although he wasn’t from a puppy mill, just a surrender. (More and more dogs were surrendered due to the economy. Please always consider adopting!)

Here’s sweet Harles

And those are my babies! Harles, Sophie, and Dixie aka DAT BUGG!

Today I was browsing hybrid dogs online (aka designer dogs, a horrible trend in general, since cross-breeding is unpredicable as far as personality, looks, etc., often leading to surges in surrenders when their popularity dies out. However, I was searching because I find it fascinating to play “what does dog A + dog B produce?”) While searching, I found this. The Brug.

HOLY EWOK! It’s a Brussels Griffon x Pug. I saw the picture below and nearly died. I sent it to Big Daddy and he felt the same.

It looks like Sophie with a bad 80’s perm! I won’t ever get one from a breeder or anything, but you better bet that I’ll be checking rescues for Brugs until the day I find one I can snatch up!

Actions

Information

9 responses

28 05 2010
Lexi

I am so thankful you have three dogs….. it makes having two seem like a breeze. Also, I wouldn’t in a million years dream of getting another dog. We have a two dog maximum in this household! lol

29 05 2010
Cera

Your puggs are so darn cute! I’ve been fantasizing about including my pup in some of our wedding pictures, but until I saw your wedding pics with yours I just couldn’t figure out how to make it work. Thank you! Oh and that first picture of the two Brugs is uber cuteness. I’ve just about convinced my fiance that we need to figure out what my cousin’s dog is because she is just so cute and sweet (he literally spent the entire time at my aunt’s house petting the dog and he doesn’t even like dogs). I commend you for not wanting to support “designer” dogs. They should never be considered just a fashion accessory and I wish people would realize that.

31 05 2010
Jess

OMG a Brug, hilarious!! They are super cute. (Though not as cute as your three…) I love them too! 🙂
xo

31 05 2010
Em

1. Your dogs are so damn cute. *Almost* as cute as my two kitties. Almost.
2. YAY for no adoption!! My cats were rescues as well, and I’m sorry (no I’m not) but when I find out some one has bought an animal from a breeder I honestly think a little differently of them.
3. I’m so glad to be back blogging/commenting!

1 06 2010
Twinner

YAY for the pug/bugg intro on the new blog! wheeeeeeee!

UMM GUESS WHAT!? I met a BRUG in person on Sunday!!!!!!! Cutest thing I have ever seen. Except for my pug. And yours.

1 06 2010
Stacy Marie

Super cute pugs! And that fisheye lens rules. Do Amish people do puppy mills?

1 06 2010
Laura, your freakin' bestie.

Brugs?! I DIE. LOL

2 06 2010
bluebutterfly10

So freaking adorable!! So since you are looking at pug cross breeds you should totally google the Muggin….it’s a Min Pinscher X Pug…I love them soo much and was hoping to find my MinPin a sister, but alas we found Molly the OEB (old english bulldogge) instead.

15 06 2010
Pug Puke… not cute « kjpugs: ordinary in indiana

[…] my pugs? Familiarize yourself. Ready? Ok. Harles gets kind of gaggy sometimes, and makes throwing up noises without throwing up. […]

Leave a Reply

