It Never Ends

20 06 2010

Today is Father’s Day.

It is my seventh father’s day without my father. It does not get easier and the pain and missing him never ends.

I miss his joyful, loud humor and contagious laugh every minute of every day. Especially today. I love you dad.

Luckily I had a distraction today. My father in law was giving the sermon at his church. Big Daddy and I, and three of his four siblings, attended the service. He spoke from the heart and I am so glad we were able to witness his Faith like that.

Here we are with FIL and his new wife at our wedding. It is their two year anniversary tomorrow! They are wonderful, devoted people. I adore them both and seeing my FIL so open and honest giving the sermon was a memorable experience.

What else “never ends?” Your favorite topic, readers! MY PLUMBING!

Remember how I claimed it was “finally over?”

Meet our swimming pool.

I often wonder what kind of drugs the former owners were on when painting our basement.

I know it’s blurry but I took it quickly with my iPhone to show the plumber. Luckily, he gave us a 30 day guarantee when he came last. This puddle (which takes up nearly 1/4 of our tiny basement) is from Big Daddy showering. I called the plumber (this was Saturday morning) and he said he was super busy, and it might be a day. And oh, to avoid using water. I hadn’t showered yet.

I won’t lie, I cried on the phone. And then when I hung up, I had a really good sob fest. I hate when things spiral out of your control. Luckily, he was able to come later that evening and fix it. Again, the guarantee was a lifesaver. We had a huge storm the night before, and apparently, any root ball debris that was left would be clogged even worse from the flow from the storm. He has a root killer that can be used for tiny root bitlets (technical term) like we have, and lasts a year, so we are doing that treatment in a few weeks.

I’m glad to have this weekend behind me. Good riddance!

Actions

Information

4 responses

21 06 2010
Sally

Thinking about you as you miss your dad. So glad you have your FIL! I lost my mom 12 years ago. I miss her daily.

21 06 2010
Laura, your freakin' bestie.

Ugh, plumbing probs are the WORST. Especially when it means you are out of using things you NEED… like a shower you greasy mo-fo!

21 06 2010
Laura, your freakin' bestie.

*I want to get follow up comments and forgot to check the box. So now I need to comment again. Ignore this. I’m calling you in an hour. You better answer.

18 07 2010
My Feet are the Plumbing of July « kjpugs: ordinary in indiana

[…] the Plumbing of July 18 07 2010 Seriously, when did my feet become the new plumbing? As in, something I talk about too much that NO ONE cares about? If you don’t like to look at feet pictures […]

Leave a Reply

