Jugs of Vodka

29 06 2010

I got a really wonderful lovely amazing card from my Mom today.

(The inside says “You just let me know”)

She wrote some lovely things to me about how proud my dad would be of me and how hard she knows days like Father’s Day can be for me. It was such a sweet, unexpected gesture. But the vodka? Take a closer look:

It’s an inside joke. Since first of all, my Mom doesn’t drink. And second, she’s NEVER been ok with us getting drunk, even when we were twenty-one plus. She’s always sure to tell us we look like fools if we do. But the real inside joke here is because of something that happened in the summer of 2006.

I had just turned 21 that past April and was enjoying my first legal-drinking summer. My girlfriends and I joined Weight Watchers (which was awesome and helped me lose a lot of weight!) and for a cookout, I bought a huge bottle of some flavored vodka for us to drink with diet 7-up. We just had a drink or two each, and I brought it to my room that night to save for later barbecues.

The next day I found my vodka bottle with a note on it:

In case you can’t read that postie note, it says “How many points is Smirnoff?”

Just a friendly reminder to 1) avoid excessive drinking and 2) stay within my Weight Watchers points.

I love my Mommers so much. She gives me so much material. For therapy and/or a tell-all book.

Actions

Information

10 responses

29 06 2010
Em

Aw your mom is adorable! Ps, I’m semi-back to blog-reading/commenting. I have like 11 of your posts to catch up on and I promise to comment the shit outta them. Even the basement/plumbing ones.

29 06 2010
Kristin

Hahha love this!!

30 06 2010
Melissa

Aw yay mom! Our moms sound so similar, too. I’m glad you have such a great relationship with your mom.

30 06 2010
Laura, your freakin' bestie!

Hahhaa, omg I remember saving all of my WW points for the weekend and I would drink away my bonus 35+ points. Are you doing WW again? If so let’s email about it, I want to talk inspiration yo! I decided I need to loose at LEAST 50 lbs before I try gettin’ knocked up.

30 06 2010
kjpugs

I soooo need to get back on it but it’s so hard being in a relationship with someone who gets like twice the points as you a day!!! We need to chat about this. Since I need to drop at least 50 myself.

30 06 2010
Dancy

How cute is your mom? Erm… sooo is 90cal really the answer? So flavored vodka is 2 points? Dayum!

1 07 2010
kjpugs

Lol I think she just made it up. I don’t remember the points but I think it was 1 or 2 points per shot?

30 06 2010
Brit

That’s too funny! Belvedere apparently is very very low in calories according to Chelsea Handler.

30 06 2010
kjpugs

BAHAHA I really, really, REALLY hope everything Chelsea Handler says is true 🙂

1 07 2010
Rosie

me and mom just read that out loud like a bedtime story. we miss you dearly

Leave a Reply

