KJ’Stachio Cuppies

4 07 2010

I am obsessed with all things pistachio. And have been, ever since I was younger, when I would eat them for hours with my dad (and then joke about how they made us gassy. We were weird.)

Pistachio gelato? NOM. Pistachio flavored treats? Amazing. I had a little tiny pistachio cake (like a freakin’ postage stamp… damn you tiny fancy desserts) at a convention a few years ago, and ever since have obsessed over finding something like it again. No such luck. The flavor of pistachio in a cake is so different… a little nutty, almost a little fruity… it’s subtle but powerful. So last night, when I had a hankering to bake cupcakes, I searched for pistachio cupcakes. The only one out there really is from 52 Cupcakes. You can find the story here and her recipe PDF here.

I followed the cupcake recipe to the letter except 1) no pistachio bits, I couldn’t find them and 2) canola oil instead of vegetable oil. I was disappointed in my oven- it tends to really burn the bottom of some cupcakes (and the tops a bit too) while keeping the inside just done. Stupid oven. I wonder if I should put the cupcake pans in a jelly roll pan with some water to more evenly cook them? Like you do with cheesecake? Anyone with any advice- it’s requested!

The icing was very good. Only problem? The cupcake recipe makes 18, but the frosting recipe should make enough for 24 cupcakes. So, I took her recipe and cut it by 3/4 (1 and 1/2 sticks butter, 4 1/2 to 6 cups confectioner’s sugar, 3/8 cup milk {you can eye it}, and 1 and 1/2 teaspoons vanilla.) I used 5 cups sugar but should have done at least a half cup more for a fluffier icing.

I topped them with more miniature chocolate chips!

The verdict? Tasty, but I think the magnolia vanilla frosting overcomes the delicate pistachio flavor. It’s also a bit too sweet for me. I might try it next time with a cream cheese frosting. Or, this cool whip pistachio dip that my friend makes for dipping fruit in- that could be a nice light alternative.

See the dark edges? This was a pretty bad one. Poor cuppies.

Anyone want to buy me a new oven?

Actions

Information

5 responses

4 07 2010
Layla

OMGAAAAAAAAAAAH I’m recently obsessed with pistachios. We had pistachio gelato while we were at the beach and I can’t stop thinking about it. I’ll have to try these, but I know my frosting won’t look like that, so I won’t even attempt it. And I totally love my cupcakes a little burnt around the edges. 🙂

4 07 2010
kjpugs

GIRL! I just put it in a plastic bag and snipped it then piped a big pile of it. SO EASY, no special tools required 🙂

4 07 2010
Lexi

The water trick would probably work, but I’d also recommend getting an oven thermometer (about $5 at lowes) and set your oven to 350 (fairly universal baking temp) and see what the thermometer says- you’ll be amazed at how ‘off’ the oven might be. I keep mine in there all the time and go by my cheapo thermometer for important recipes rather than the ovens temp gauge.

6 07 2010
Dancy

Love “fissnachios” as my cousin used to call them. Friendly’s makes an ice cream to DIE for with salty little nuggets of fissnashio goodness. 🙂

7 07 2010
Ali @ His Birdie's Nest

My oven pulls the same shite and my mom recommended that I get an oven thermometer like Lexi said. I haven’t done it yet but I think I might now that Lexi said to. We all know you don’t listen to your Mom, right?

Leave a Reply

