My Feet are the Plumbing of July

18 07 2010

Seriously, when did my feet become the new plumbing? As in, something I talk about too much that NO ONE cares about? If you don’t like to look at feet pictures please don’t read this entry.

Thanks.

If you are brave, move along. If you are a doctor, PLEASE, DO READ.

As most of you remember, I was stung by an EVIL, SCARY, SATANIC bee a week ago.

Well yesterday, after the beer festival, I noticed that the stung toe was all messed up. I figured it was an allergic reaction because I’m really allergic to all grass and most trees. (The grass doesn’t bother me besides pollen usually, unless it’s recently cut, but I did spend all day with sweaty feet in flip flops in the grass.)

I showered and it felt a little better. But then I woke up in the middle of the night (well, 4:00 AM) with the worst itch I’ve ever felt. I could not stop scratching or rubbing. I put on some Gold Bond anti-itch lotion, took a Benadryl, and eventually got back to bed.

Today it isn’t any better.

(It’s myΒ  “pointer toe” on my left foot, in case you’re blind. Also the little black hair on my left pinkie toe is pug hair stuck between the two toes. Gross, I know.)

(Additionally… I LOVE Vera Bradley and I am wearing this tote OUT, it’s more than two years old and getting kind of… worn. But doesn’t it make a lovely backdrop to my disgusting toes?)

So, it’s red, it is SWOLLEN, it hurts, it is even a little bumpy as well. Walking around in flip flops was pretty painful.

This is the farthest I can bend my poor toesie.

I am concerned that it’s related to the bee sting. I have a little mark where the bee stung me. I tried to use tweezers (thinking it was a bit of stinger or something) but I couldn’t get anything… so I was guessing it was a blood spot or something.

What IS THAT? Seriously! It looks JUST like a freckle but it was not there before the bee sting.

So I tweeted about it and my good friend Cher replied with this sweet comment:

Gee thanks, Cher. That is the way to treat a hypochondriac like myself.

But seriously… what the heck is wrong with me!?!? It doesn’t appear infected but I could be completely off base. I assume infected would involve ooze of some sort. Ugh. What type of doctor should I go to? Dermatologist? Podiatrist? Helpppp! I would prefer not to lose a toe.

EDIT: Adding this an hour or so later. The lovely Lexi (of Dishin’ With Edna) who commented below also told me more about her story. She didn’t have a real visible “cut” but got a staph infection in her foot from some tiny cut she got sometime. What she described felt exactly like my symptoms, so naturally I googled it. (Note- do NOT google image staph infections.) Turns out, staph infections run the gamut and one type, that commonly infects the foot, is called cellulitis. First of all, the swelling is BAD on the bottom of my toe too, where the sting is (it feels like I am walking on a marble) but it’s hard to photograph. Also, I have been walking barefoot AS MUCH AS POSSIBLE since I felt it would air out my toe (and for a day or two, since my toe hurt.) That exposed my tiny bee sting entrance wound to icky stuff. Reminder that my bee sting happened last Sunday, hurt til maybe Tuesday at the latest, and then all of a sudden got HORRIBLE on Saturday, a week later. So it’s clearly not related to the sting itself. If it’s not staph, I’m sure it’s just some sort of crappy infection.

Thanks everyone for the help… unless I wake up feeling 100% better I’ll be seeing a doctor ASAP. I don’t have a general practitioner but I’ll figure someone out.

Actions

Information

15 responses

18 07 2010
tara

they’ll probably have to amputate both feet. πŸ™‚

18 07 2010
kjpugs

Oh God, I am going to have nightmares. Stubby, stubby nightmares.

18 07 2010
Brandi

Ouch! Frozen peas, two bags, switch ’em out. I’d be on a benedryl regimen for a couple of days too. Bees suck.

18 07 2010
Lexi

I agree it’s infected. Also, not to add to your hypochondria, but I’ve had a staph infection in my foot before, and ignored it thinking it was athletes foot, and lets just say it wasn’t pretty when I finally went to the doctor. Put a circle around the pink part with a sharpie or ball point pen. The doctor will be greatly appreciative because it will help them gauge how intense the infection is.

18 07 2010
Ashley

It doesn’t look infected to me or my hubby (doctor to be). Put some ice on it to get the swelling down. Keep taking benadryl in case it’s an allergic reaction. If it doesn’t go away in a day or two, then contact a doctor.

18 07 2010
Layla

I don’t think it looks infected, just irritated…aaaand the irritation seems to be on the opposite side of the toe as the bee sting? I think maybe you got stung/bit/beat up by a different type of bug altogether. On the same toe. I strongly recommend amputation of said toe, as it’s apparently cursed.

18 07 2010
kjpugs

In case anyone is following the comments… please check back to the entry since I updated it with more information!

18 07 2010
Windi

Don’t know what your insurance situation currently is, but let me know if you need a doctor rec. I love my internist!

19 07 2010
Em

Oh noooo. If you have an emergency care place around go there. They’ll treat anything and if they can’t they’ll refer you to some one who can. Hope you find out what’s ailing you (and praying it’s not staph….ew).

19 07 2010
Laura, your freakin' bestie!

Thank you for keeping us updated on your toe. I’ve been highly concerned. Keep the toe posts coming. Clearly we love them! πŸ™‚ Feel bettttter and I’ll hope for the best!

19 07 2010
Amy

Sorry to hear about this, lady. Hang in there and hope you’re feeling better soon! πŸ™‚

19 07 2010
Rosh

oh dear. that would happen to you. feel better sis! xoxo

21 07 2010
bluebutterfly10

Sorry I couldn’t help but laugh when I read this post! My sister is a bit of a hypochon and she sent me a cellphone pic just days ago of her swollen bug bitten foot and was freaking out and pretty much thought her foot would fall off and needed consult on what to do. I told her to calm down and take some benadryl to see if it helped but if it got worse she should see a Dr. It’s funny how something simple could have such an adverse reaction on someone else.

21 07 2010
Vera Bradley « kjpugs: ordinary in indiana

[…] I’ve gotten many items in Mod Floral Pink, including the Tic-Tac-Tote (B hates the word tote) and my MUCH beloved Bowler, which was seen in a recent foot post. […]

31 07 2010
New Jersey, thus far: Pizza, Beach, & JOURNALS « kjpugs: ordinary in indiana

[…] ice cream with wet walnuts. I would have taken a picture but bees started attacking and due to my history we retreated to the […]

Leave a Reply

