Feets & Tetanus

19 07 2010

Last night, I heeded some advice and had Big Daddy draw an outline of the redness on my feet.

Like an upside down mushroom, or PEEN even! Cute artistic outline skills, Big Daddy.

We were in bed around 11:00pm and asleep within a half hour. At 12:45 I woke up with the most HORRIBLE itching pain on my toe, AGAIN. This morning, the swelling and redness were both slightly better (though at points the red spread outside the purple line a bit) but I knew the doctor visit was important since infections are tricky. Better safe than sorry.

I told my coworkers right away (and they were all pretty grossed out yet understanding of my flip flops) and then logged onto my new insurance’s website. CIGNA… anyone? I’m not so happy with it. My old insurance, Blue Cross Blue Shield, dealt with TONS of doctors, including St. Vincent doctors (the local hospital in our area and a HUGE network of doctors.) CIGNA? NONE of them. Not a single St. V’s doctor. So pretty much all my old doctors are out. I called a lot of random doctors (trying to find a GP to go to today) and many weren’t taking new patients, and those that were wouldn’t have had time for me today or even this week.

Finally, Dr. G. They’re on another side of the city so I was hesitant, but I was excited that they had an appointment today. The nurse asked me a few vital informations and it turns out- she has the same middle name as me!!! (Jeanne, pronounced Jean. QUITE rare French version.) I took that as an awesome omen.

I was right. It was the FREAKING BEST DOCTOR’S VISIT I’VE EVER HAD. I wanted to invite them all to dinner and let them pet the pugs. The nurse was the sweetest girl (a little older than me) and the doctor was fun, talkative, and knowledgeable. This is a far cry from many of my past doctors.

The diagnosis:

Infection. Staph/cellulitis? Nope! Just a normal infection. I showed him the “freckle” and he said it’s a foreign body. Possibly part of the stinger, but more likely just gunk. This likely causes the infection. Also cause? Dirty bees.

That’s a DIRTY bee hangin’ around a whole lotta trash cans and dumpsters.

Apparently, later-onset bee sting infections aren’t uncommon when the bees in question have been around trash. They pick up little ickies and transfer it to the person. What was in the corner of the park near where I got stung? DUMPSTERS. Many of them. So that would make sense.

The other problem is whatever’s in my foot. Dr G said it could just be absorbed/work it’s way out on it’s own, but I’m going back in a week to check it out. Hopefully the meds will help, since digging it out can cause even more infection risk.

I’m on Loratadine for the itching, about once a day. And then I’m on Cephalexin every six hours (antibiotic) to kill the infection. Problem: I’m allergic to penicillin. We think. (All I remember is that I was really young and couldn’t go to Disney World due to hives.) Cephalexin is related to penicillin, but only causes reactions in like 5% of people. I’m taking it VERY close to bed (so I don’t have to worry about waking up at night to take it) and really hope I don’t break out in hives like way back when 20+ years ago.

Interesting fact: My Twinner’s pug Pearl is on Cephalexin too!

Additionally, I was given a tetanus shot, since we’re not sure what exactly is in my toe and I couldn’t remember the last time I got one. HOLY SHIT. TETANUS SHOTS HURT.

I am using my left boob to prop my left hand to make a sort of sling so I don’t have to use my arm muscles. B says I look like I have a chicken wing. I’d take a picture but I’m wearing my McCain/Palin shirt from way back when and don’t want to lose more followers πŸ™‚

In any case… at least I have THESE meds tonight as well.

Xingu, a black beer from Brazil, similar to what I talked about from the Beer Fest, and Goose Island IPA, a wonderfully drinkable pale ale.

Definitely pleased with my self-medicating of a beer or two. Happy Monday everyone. Thanks for all the toe well-wishes!

Actions

Information

18 responses

19 07 2010
Em

Clearly the bee voted for Obama πŸ™‚

Glad you got it checked out, though. Shit like that scares me and I’d probably think I was dying. Keep us updated (although I’m sure I didn’t have to say that because I know you will.)

19 07 2010
kjpugs

BAHAHAH Em both me and hubby LOL’d at that one πŸ™‚ Those liberal bees are really out for us conservative feets.

19 07 2010
Layla

I’m allergic to Penicillin and can take Cephalexin… it should be okay!

Damn vagrant crackhead bees.

19 07 2010
Melissa

I’m glad you figured out what it was and that it wasn’t a staph infection!

And I agree, tetanus shots blow. The only one I found worse was the ovarian cancer prevention one. That one was horrible. Hope you feel better soon!

19 07 2010
kjpugs

Seriously? I found this to be 100x worse than all 3 HPV vacc’s put together!!!!!

God… let’s hope this wasn’t a DIRTY TETANUS SHOT. You know, the ones that hang out near dumpsters.

19 07 2010
Laura, your freakin' bestie!

1. I love your ghetto bee.
2. I’m glad it’s nothing too serious.
3. I’m going to outbeer you tonight.
4. Love your reasoning for not showing us the shirt yet you still told us.
5. I want to see your chicken wing!!!

19 07 2010
kjpugs

BAHAHAHA you make very valid points.

19 07 2010
Kelley #2

I’m SOOOOO GLADDD you went to the docs. I’m also allergic to penicillin:) I got realllly sick when I was like 8 or 9.. my good blood cell count was way down and I almost went into the hositpal! not fun! anyway booo for dirty bees!

19 07 2010
tara

OUCH!!! glad you’re not going to have to have both your feet amputated! πŸ™‚ enjoy self-medicating!

19 07 2010
Brandi

Yay for it not being staph, and yay for beer!

19 07 2010
Smitty

Eek! Fingers crossed for NO HIVES!

19 07 2010
Elizabeth Lou

Omg that bee is amazing. I am glad you didn’t lose a toe.

20 07 2010
Cindy G

Glad you got it checked and it wasn’t a staph infection. Also good to hear that you found a great doctor πŸ™‚

20 07 2010
rsdl921

So glad you got it checked out and its nothing too serious! So funny story, when we first got Dallas she was a sick sick lil pup and was on a steady stream of Cephalexin. We were busy (per usual) and for some reason I was taking meds too. Who knows why now almost 5 years later, I grabbed the wrong bottle and took Dallas’ Cephalexin. R and I both freaked out that I had just taken dog meds and called, yes, poison control! Obviously it was so not a big deal, but your drug of choice right now made me remember our funny story all over! I’m sure the meds and beer made it all better last night!! Hopefully its already healing this morning!

20 07 2010
Hannah

Ah –
Dear lord this sounds painful! Stop it. Stop the pain. Stop the horrible dirty bee blogging. Its too early in the morning for this!

j/k Love you, hope it gets better soon

20 07 2010
Kelly

First of all, I LOVE the new bee picture. It’s just fabulous! HAHA. I am allergic to penecillin for sure as well and just had strep throat and the doc was PEEVED that I was allergic to it bc it’s apprently the best antibiotic out there. We had a good laugh about it. I hope your toe gets better! Maybe some pizzology will speed along the process .. and if not, you get pizza and gellato out of it. Hah. πŸ˜‰

20 07 2010
Dancy

Yikes it’s still really swollen. Shoes must suck right now. I’m deathly allergic to penicillin – like, I wear a medalert bracelet cuz my throat’ll close & I’ll die allergic. I’ve never heard of those meds but I’m sure if the doc knows of your allergies, you should be ok.

Oh & my girl Marisa’s dress? Alexia Admor… from Lord & Taylor. It’s on her main site right now too – http://www.alexiaadmor.com/.

31 07 2010
New Jersey, thus far: Pizza, Beach, & JOURNALS « kjpugs: ordinary in indiana

[…] ice cream with wet walnuts. I would have taken a picture but bees started attacking and due to my history we retreated to the […]

Leave a Reply

