I shopped and then made Whoopie.

19 09 2010

That’s right Bob Eubanks.

I did.

But let’s back it up. First the weekend had to begin somewhere! And begin it did. With Costco.

I have been working with our local Costco for my job and he mentioned to me that I’d get a $10 cash card for signing up with him. Big Daddy keeps talking about some crazy awesome Peach Mango Salsa from there so I knew he’d agree. We signed up last week and went to get our membership cards and shop on Saturday.

Of course, going on Saturday meant crazy crowds due to the delicious free samples. Which we took full advantage of. It actually influenced a lot of our purchases! We got things like a orange chicken stir fry, Mickey Mouse chicken nuggets (they rule, you know it), a tub of feta cheese as big as your head, a bunch of Leinenkugel Oktoberfest, a huge bag of sweet potato fries…

And of course… the aforementioned salsa.

We got home and had a nugget lunch with a chips and salsa appetizer. The Costco chip bag was about three bucks and THREE POUNDS. I’m not kidding. See?

We didn’t share with pugs though. They get enough food!

I worked at Old Navy Saturday night, which was unfortunate. I had to pick up the shift since I only got four hours this week! Usually I get 10-15, or more like 20 during busy times. I’m still trying to pick up shifts this week to. Sigh. But don’t worry- today made everything better.

We had an early six month anniversary lunch at Olive Garden (it’s tomorrow, but we celebrated today in case I can pick up a shift tomorrow) where I was brave enough to try B’s Pork Milanese. (I had chicken parm!) Then we hit up Meijer for some essential items we couldn’t get at Costco. And what did I find?

PUMPKIN!!!!!! After last year’s shortage I was terrified I wouldn’t be able to find any. Lady Luck was on my side though and in the back, next to the pumpkin pie mix, was pure pumpkin!

I had seen Amy I tweet about pumpkin whoopie pies so I was excited to give them a try. I pulled up the recipe on my iPhone and got all the ingredients I didn’t have at home.

In case you’re wondering, here are the ingredients, from Amy I’s blog Playing House:

For the Pumpkin Whoopie Cookies:
3 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
4 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice
2 cups firmly packed dark-brown sugar
1 cup vegetable oil (I used canola)
3 cups pumpkin puree, chilled
2 large eggs
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

For the Cream Cheese Filling:
3 cups confectioners’ sugar
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened
8 ounces cream cheese, softened
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Amy said that the recipe should make 18 pies. Mine made… 45 or so. I measured my spring-loaded scooper (she says to use one in heaping tablespoon portions, which is exactly what mine is) so I thought maybe Amy had a bigger scoop? Or maybe I measured my scoop wrong? Who knows. It’s ok because they baked right and are delicious. Here are my directions with photos!

First preheat the oven to 350 and line baking sheets with parchment paper. I had to use five baking sheets (three of different sizes) to get them all baked.

Get two big bowls. In the smaller of the two, add the flour, salt, baking soda, baking powder, and pumpkin pie spice.

Mix with a whisk until combined. Set aside.

In the larger of the two big bowls, add the dark brown sugar and oil.

Mix until combined. It said to whisk but um… sugary oil clogs my whisk. So I’d use a fork next time for this step.

Hmmm… it almost looks like bacon…… nommm…

When all the sugar and oil are combined, add the chilled pumpkin.

Mix that all up until it’s combined, then add the eggs and vanilla and mix well.

Then, add the dry ingredients a bit at a time, mixing to combine.

I then used my little scooper to put dollops on the parchment-lined baking sheets, no less than a half inch apart. They don’t spread terribly much. Bake for 15 minutes… and voila!

When they’re done, the tops start to look cracked a bit, and a toothpick inserted in the middle will come out clean. When you touch them, they should feel firm but also cake-like. PS- mine aren’t burnt, that’s just a shadow from horrible lighting and bad photography skills.

I let them cool on the pans and then removed them when the pans were cooled down. Then I began the cream cheese filling. It’s too easy for pictures… just cream the butter (a paddle mixer works best) then add the cream cheese. When they’re combined, slowly add the sugar and vanilla.

I tried to put the icing in a makeshift piping bag (i.e., Ziploc) but it honestly didn’t make it easier, or make a difference in the way it looked. I ended up using a small spoon to put a dollop on one cookie, then top it with another. I got nervous about running out of icing, which of course meant I had tons extra at the end.

I kind of wish I had stirred baby chocolate chips into the icing for a tiny touch of chocolate and texture. Oh well! They’re still delicious! B gave them a 9.4! And neither of us have had dinner… which I think says something!

AUTUMN IS HERE Y’ALL!

Looks like my coworkers are going to be very full tomorrow…

Actions

Information

17 responses

19 09 2010
MK

SO jealous you found pumpkin! I am making pasta with pumpkin sauce this week and our Safeway said they won’t have it until October…mehh!! The pies look delish, and the title of this post was one of the wittiest 🙂

19 09 2010
Layla

Shit YES. Thank you for this.

19 09 2010
Laura

Oh wow, I think the recipe I use and tweeted about is way easier but they look exactly like that – I wonder if they taste the same!

Happy 6 month anniversary to you and B!!

19 09 2010
Hannah

I had no idea of this pumpkin shortage? Or maybe I caused it… I bought so much pumpkin last year during sales that I still have 3 in my pantry. Oops?

Also, what the heck is a whoopie pie. Never had one!

19 09 2010
Ashley

Mmm…delicious!

19 09 2010
Kelly

Those look delicious! And I have no clue why people were freaking out over the pumpkin shortage. Every time I went to the grocery store, they had a whole shelf of both pumpkin puree and pie pumpkin mix (two very different things and I wasn’t sure which was always out of stock elsewhere). Because people freaked out so much, I still have like 2 cans of each in my pantry. Maybe I’ll sell them on eBay this year when they run out again and make a fortune!!! ;P

19 09 2010
Smtty

LOL, I just love Big Daddy’s expression in the pic with the salsa!

And those cookies look to die for…just might have to try them out!

PS- random, but I am really craving some pumpkin pie!

lata.

20 09 2010
Jessica

Ooh chocolate chips would be good in them! They look deelish.

20 09 2010
Melissa

Ahh Costco! They have them back in Pennsylvania but no such luck in Rhode Island. And BJ’s seriously is just not the same!

Those whoopie pies look so good. Even though I’m not a huge pumpkin fan, maybe I’ll have to try and make them for G.

20 09 2010
Jenell

Looks delish! I saved the recipe, maybe I will them!

20 09 2010
Anastasia

OMG! These look amazing. You should send me some! My mouth is actually watering. By the way, where did you get your spring loaded scoop?

20 09 2010
EmilyB

Yummmm those look delicious!! I’m going to a party this weekend and the host requested a fall-themed dish. I might have to make these!

Happy Anniversary 🙂

20 09 2010
shelikesruffles

I know I already told you this but…I want one of these…NOWWW!

21 09 2010
Nikki

Don’t you LOVE Costco?? I could go there pretty much every day. Its one of my fave places… behind Target. And I am adding those whoopie cookies to my list of things to learn to bake. Thanks for the recipe! I can’t wait to try them!

21 09 2010
Dancy

I have an entire HUBS free weekend ahead of me and I’m totally making this!!!

22 09 2010
Laura L

OMG your Bob Eubanks reference crackkkked me up. I used to always watch the old school NWG and would call it woopie and sounded like a grandma for my early age. Hahaha I also think I MUST make those woopie pies for a holiday party – brad would love them!

24 09 2010
Mina

that looks amazing, and so autumn–love it!

Leave a Reply

