A Mullet Situation

29 09 2010

Ladies and gentlemen… I have a mullet situation.

Not THAT kind of mullet situation. Although I am proud of myself for photoshopping that one.

No, I have a hair problem. My hair is growing out, it’s been almost three months, when it should really be half that between trims for my short style. The back flips outwards immediately after blow drying, and even if I straighten it to curl slightly under, it will flip weird directions depending where it hits my shoulders or shirt collar. I’m kind of hating it right now. But I don’t know what to do with it- grow it out? Or cut it short again (the nearly two-month overdue trim!) And for that matter… stay blonde? Or go darker again.

Let’s backtrack. In high school, and growing up, and through much of college… I had long, blonde hair. (And VERY thin eyebrows. HOLY TWEEZERS!)

Senior pictures FTW!

Ok so we are skipping the rest of HS and college because I’m too thin then and it makes me sad, as well as making my hair look different. A hairstyle can go from hot to not if you gain or lose weight!

My hair was long through my first year-ish with B.

Then I cut it SHORT (well it was really short for me.)

That is an ADORABLE photo. Let’s try another, shall we?

I kept it shorter and blondeish like this for about a year.

Part of what bothers me about my hair short (and my hair in general) is that it’s thinner, and lays pretty flat. It looks stringy and kind of falls wherever.

(This is supposed to highlight the hair flatness. But it’s also when Sophie had her cancer removed and had to wear a cone, so we made her a “flower” and Dixie a Bee for a costume contest.)

When I lost my job in early 2009, I went dark. I kept it that way to save money. It was kind of bad when I was pale…

…but not so bad when I was tan.


(Hangin’ with my pal Laura during a pug get-together!)

It was darker for my engagement pictures.

When I got a job in summer 2009 I cut it and dyed it light again.

That would be me and my baby cousin. This was the first time I thought it might be too short for me.

I went a bit blonder and, after trying on my wedding dress, decided to grow it out.


(I had my one and only successful spray tan this day. The other time I tried I stood off-center and results did NOT turn out this well.)

By my wedding, after about six months of growing, my hair looked like this:

Then, as you all know, I cut it short post-wedding, and have kept it pretty short and blonde.

Then I cut it even SHORTER last July. (Go see the pictures if you don’t remember.)

So I don’t know what to do. I’m sick of having to really style my short hair, and get it cut every 6 weeks. But I hated my hair feeling LONG and STRINGY. I don’t know what looks best on me. And…… I have a haircut on Friday morning. Please help! You can select as many answers as you agree with.

Let me know what you think in the comments as well!

Actions

Information

22 responses

29 09 2010
Christina

You’re able to pull off either dark or blonde, which is awesome. I really like the length you had right before your wedding. That’s usually my ideal hair length too, so maybe I’m a little biased!

Also, that Situation-mullet picture is AMAZING. I honestly didn’t even recognize him for a minute, haha.

29 09 2010
Layla

My hair is fine as well, so I know what you mean about it feeling stringy. But honestly, I don’t think that your long hair looks stringy at all. Just so’s ya know.

29 09 2010
Jessica

I really like blonde on you but to be honest, you look great with both light and dark hair. As long as you don’t go mullet, I think you’re one hot mama.

There must be something about the seasons changing because everyone is talking about changing their hair!

29 09 2010
smtty

I voted go darker, mostly because I’m getting ready to die mine darker and wanted to be twins. 🙂 I do like you as a blonde, because I feel it fits your bubbly personality! Do whatev…you’ll still be cute.

PS- Why wasn’t The Situation Mullet an option????!!!! Totally voting for that one.

29 09 2010
Lexi

I voted for multiple answers. I like your hair both blonde and darkish. (That wasn’t a choice though…) I am at the same awkward point with my hair and am growing it. Maybe I should say grow it so that I have someone to commiserate with?

30 09 2010
Steph C.

I think your hair in general looks really good.. not stringy at all! Although we are always most critical of ourselves and what we have.. my hair is pretty fine so when it’s long (like now) the bottom fluffs out (esp with humidity) and the top just lays there, so it looks like I have perma-helmet head. Sucks. But! I think I like the shoulder length short-ish hair on you best, and maybe a nice light brown, to go between the dark and blonde?

30 09 2010
Brandi

I’m super jealous of your hair, because mine is frizztastic, and I could never go short. Unless I wanted to be bozo the clown. But I think you should try long again – I don’t think it looks stringy at all!

30 09 2010
Jenell

I have fine hair too, but as with the others, I agree long hair does not look stringy on you. If you want something low maintenance, go with a trim then you don’t have to get it cut so often.

30 09 2010
Steph

Oh friend the timing of your post is perfection as I too have a hair cut scheduled for Friday morning and am at a loss of what to do. Blah. I’m going to email you now…

30 09 2010
Emily B

I’m usually a HUGE advocate for dark hair in the fall/winter. However…I’m not sure if that’s the way to go for you. I just think you look REALLY good as a blonde and whoever does your color is clearly really good, too. So my votes are as follows:

Shoulder short
Blonde, maybe some subtle low-lights thrown in just to warm it up for fall (ps, who am I?)

Also, I’ve never once thought your hair looked stringy. Like, never. And I notice that stuff. I’m actually jealous of your hair.

30 09 2010
Jenn

I love the darker on you. Love it.

My favorite length is the one where you are surrounded by the tulips.

I’m getting my hair cut and colored today. I am over the moon excited.

Post results pics!!!

30 09 2010
Amy

Oh, KJ, you’re so pretty. 🙂 I love your hair at the shoulder length like in the photo of you and B in someone’s garage where you are holding the blue cup!

30 09 2010
Sandy a la Mode

ok, you are wayyy too adorable! i love how you’ve documented the life of your haircuts and color here, hehe! if you really want to change it up, maybe go for some side swept bangs!! i’m a HUGE fan of those and i’d think you’d look great with it!!! i think the length either way looks great too! 😀

30 09 2010
kjpugs

Thanks Sandy! Actually I meant to discuss bangs!! I LOVE them and have had some side-swept ones before. BUT- my skin (and hair) tends to be so super oily that I just grow them right out. I’ve actually never made it to getting my bangs trimmed! If my skin was normal I’d be all over that.

30 09 2010
Anni

I really love your hair blonde! I canNOT pull blonde off, so I’m all sorts of jealous. Also, I can commiserate – flat, thin hair is terrible. Mine is currently too long and I’m dying to get it to collarbone length again just so it’s not so dead-weight.

30 09 2010
Nikki

Hmmm this is difficult. I like you blonde and brunette. I really like your hair in the picture after the picture where you are sticking your tongue out (you are holding a blue cup). I like that length a lot. I really want to change my hair too! But I don’t see that happening any time soon- can’t afford to go someplace nice to get it done and I don’t trust those Fantastic Sams people with my curls! Can’t wait to see a picture of what you decide!!

30 09 2010
Salt

First of all, that photoshop is awesome.
Secondly, you are the most photogenic person I’ve ever seen.

I voted to keep it blonde (because we are going into winter pale months), and cut it to shoulder length. I have the same stringy problem when my hair gets long, so I totally understand.

Whatever you decide to do will look fabulous though.

30 09 2010
Melissa

Ahh I’m having the same dilemma right now on whether to stay light or keep going more towards my natural color!

30 09 2010
Newlyweds on a Budget

I like it best in the 4th, 5th, 6th pictures (if we’re including the mullet) It was very cute!

30 09 2010
Dancy

First of all – LMFAO at that 1st pic.

Looks like I’m in the minority, cuz I voted for choppin’ it & Blonde – I might be biased cuz that’s what I want to do. Thing is, like you – I always think that going dark will make me feel better while I save $$. I have a kick@$$ colorist and I love her but still – after about a week I hate it and end up going back. I feel more like myself as a blonde. If you feel the same way, I say stick with it. 😉

1 10 2010
shelikesruffles

Crap! I was so busy yesterday and I was behind on my reader…I’m too late! I can’t wait to see what you did – my vote was for shorter and darker…I love darker hair in the fall…kind of makes me think of the season. Pictures please!

3 10 2010
The Haircut to End All Haircuts. « kjpugs: ordinary in indiana

[…] The overwhelming majority of you were saying blonde and trim. This pretty much went with my thoughts. I LOVE my hair brown but with tanning, it makes it more difficult to look good. Plus, B voted only one option- blonde. That’s his opinion and since I could go either way, I figured let’s just keep it blonde! I LOVE my color when it’s fresh and my hair stylist, “The Russian,” is the best colorist I’ve ever had. So that part was easy. (Although I may go darker in the future… who knows!) […]

Leave a Reply

